End Of Year List

This larvae topped ice cream dish is one to avoid.

It’s that time of the year — the week between Christmas and New Year’s when everyone does their end-of-year list. Not to come across as unoriginal, but I thought I’d do one this year. During 2011, I’ve run across a lot of ice cream stories while researching topics for my blog. A popular subject for ice cream news and blogs is “weird ice cream flavors.” Heck, I think I’ve even tackled this subject before myself. That said, some of the flavors that are touted as weird, sound somewhat appealing and worth at least one try.

So, the topic of my list is “Weird Ice Cream Flavors I Wouldn’t Want To Try!” Since each sounds equally disgusting, I don’t really have a countdown to the yuckiest. These are listed in no particular order.

Larvae Banana Split. Sideshow performer Albert Cadabra ate a banana split with a larvae topping for Ripley’s Believe It or Not.

Cicada Flavor Ice Cream. Sticking to the subject of insects a bit longer, Sparky’s Homemade Ice Cream in Columbia, Missouri was asked to stop selling it’s cicada ice cream by the health department of Columbia County. That didn’t seem to be a problem since Sparky’s quickly sold out of the flavor within hours of debuting.

Eat All Your Green Ice Cream, Children. School children in England’s Southport turned their noses up at asparagus ice cream offered by Mrs. Dawson’s Ice Cream. The only problem was they had already tried it believe it to be mint ice cream.

Andrew Zimmern Tried It But I Won’t. The Travel Channel’s Andrew Zimmern is known for his show “Bizarre Foods.” When it comes to ice cream, he’s tried a few odd flavors including Collagen Lemon, Squid Gut, Ox Tongue and Caviar, but the one that seems to be most unappealing to me (and an online poll) is Spleen and Artichoke.

This entry was posted in Trivia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to End Of Year List

Leave a Reply

