Too Much Halloween Candy

Make use of your leftover Halloween candy. Mix it into your ice cream.

I did it again. I bought too much candy for Halloween. One would think I’d learn my lesson, but I don’t. Every year I worry that I’ll run out. I just imagine a little princess coming to my door and bursting into tears after I tell her that I’m out of candy. Or worse, I’d have to tell some ghoul, ghost or goblin, “well, I’m out of treats, so I’ll take the trick.”

So, for the past week, I’ve been munching on leftover candy wondering what to do with it all. A little thinking and a lot of Googling provided the perfect solution — ice cream. Candy is a natural mix-in for ice cream.

It goes without saying that some candy may not work. Off the top of my head, Blow Pops may be one to avoid. On the other hand, candies like M&M’s, ButterfingersHeath BarsPeanut Butter Cups, and Kit Kats work wonderfully.

The key is to break the candy into manageable, bite-size pieces. Once you do that, you’re ready to make your ice cream treat. A quick and tasty candy/ice cream combo is a simple milkshake. Just throw the candy and ice cream in the blender and give it a good mix.

For the more adventurous types, try making this candy ice cream cake.

For candy ice cream, you’ll want to make a batch ahead of time unless you like your ice cream on the soupy side. The ice cream is going to melt a bit while you combine the two together, so it’s a good idea to mix, freeze, and enjoy later. For the more adventurous types, try making a candy ice cream cake. It’s easier than you think and really tasty. You may even consider serving it at Thanksgiving this year instead of the standard pumpkin pie.

This entry was posted in Trivia and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

