Ice cream legislation

Would I have to swish around a sample of wine-flavored ice cream in my mouth before taking an actual bite?

I will be the first to admit that I’m no expert at law. Put a legal document in my hands, and my eyes glaze over. It’s so bad, that when a deer gets caught in a car’s headlights, he tells his friends that the experience was like being Uncle Harry looking at a legal document.

I’m so thankful to people who translate laws and legal documents in a way even I can understand. I should say, I was very thankful until I read some very odd laws concerning ice cream.

Defy the man. Add a scoop of ice cream to your cherry pie.

In 2008, New York passed a law allowing the sale of wine-flavored ice cream. Alcohol content couldn’t exceed 5 percent and its sale to minors was forbidden. It’s nice to know that the little ones won’t come home tipsy after a trip to the parlor.

While New Yorkers can now enjoy wine-flavored ice cream, it’s still illegal for them to walk around on Sundays with an ice cream cone in his or her pocket. Lexington, Kentucky has a similar law.

Not to be outdone by their northern neighbor, Newark, New Jersey doesn’t allow the sale of ice cream after 6pm without a doctor’s note.

Carmel, California doesn’t allow the consumption of ice cream while standing on the sidewalk.

Adding a scoop of ice cream to a slice of cherry pie was once illegal in Kansas.

Perhaps the most head scratching law of all comes from Indianola, Iowa where ice cream vendors are banned from the town. It sounds like a very sad place.

I’m sure most of these laws aren’t enforced, but I’m amazed they’re still on the books. That said, the next time in Lexington, Kentucky, I’m going to walk around with an ice cream cone in my pocket. I bet the worst that happens to me is that I get some very odd looks.

This entry was posted in Trivia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

