The Country of Weird Ice Cream

Wasabi ice cream, anyone?

A friend once insisted that I try sushi. While raw fish on rice didn’t sound appealing to me, I gave it a go. This is NOT the part where I report that I became a lifelong fan of sushi and eat it whenever I get the chance. What I became was very suspicious of Japanese food.

I hypothesize that sushi is actually one big practical joke played on us by the nation of Japan. Whereas Americans engage in the artful placement of whoopee cushions, sprinkle the occasional itchy powder and don the arrow through the head now and then, it is my theory that the Japanese try to get us to eat really weird food.

I enter into evidence exhibit B: Japanese ice cream flavors. Our allies to the west have created a plethora of oddball concoctions for your enjoyment. These include a variety of aquatic inspired mixtures like fish, octopus, squid, crab, shrimp, oyster, seaweed, and deep sea water ice cream. If you’re not a fan of seafood, you can try ox tongue, chicken wing, cactus, cypress tree, pickled plum and tomato ice cream. You can even chow down on some charcoal ice cream. Better yet, drop a pint into the stocking of a misbehaving child this Christmas. I guarantee you that you’ll have a sweet little angel on your hands come next year.

My gift to the Japanese. Best enjoyed while watching the movie "Snakes on a Plane."

Say what you will about these curious flavors, you have to admire the ingenuity of the Japanese. In fact, to show my admiration for their creativity, I’m thinking of sending a can of mixed nuts to Japan (not to be opened by seniors or anyone with a heart condition).

This entry was posted in Trivia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

