The Classic Ice Cream Parlor

Citi Field. Home of the NY Mets

My observation of New Yorkers on the subway is that they aren’t very chatty. I didn’t let that deter me as I struck up a conversation with a gentleman on my way to catch the Mets take on the Diamondbacks.

Call it luck, fate, or the work of the ice cream gods, but I was fortunate to meet my newfound friend, Bill Krenn. As I described my Summer of Ice Cream Blog to Bill (an ardent Mets fan), he tipped me off to an old-fashioned ice cream parlor a few blocks from where he lived.

Eddie's Sweet Shop

The next day I made my way to the Forest Hills neighborhood in Queens with Bill’s directions in hand. Bill might as well have handed me a treasure map because I struck gold with his recommendation, Eddie’s Sweet Shop. At almost 100 years old, Eddie’s gives you the feeling of stepping back into time. The décor is circa 1930 with toys that gave me a deep sense of nostalgia, a real soda fountain and good old fashioned homemade ice cream.

Owner Vito Citrano in blue shirt works the counter at Eddie's.

If you’re ever in New York, bypass the chains and head straight for Eddie’s Sweet Shop. This ice cream is best described as pure bliss. I don’t know if it was the old time parlor or the two-scoop sundae, but I felt as if I was 12 years old all over again. Thanks to Bill for the tip. Go Mets!

This entry was posted in Ice Cream Shops, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

