Williamsburg, Virginia

Colonial Williamsburg faithfully depicts colonial life in early America.

My first stop, Doumar’s, was like going back to the 50’s. Now I feel like I’m in the 18th Century. I’m in Colonial Williamsburg. Here, visitors can witness the great accomplishments of our forefathers. For instance, did you know that American colonists coined the term “ice cream”? OK, maybe it’s not the greatest of accomplishments. It is, however, so very American to create words and phrases that catch on worldwide.

The most important reason I’m in Williamsburg is my great-nephew’s birthday. Nicholas turned 4 and had a pirate party. Check out the pirate cake my nephew, Matt, made. It’s so amazing! He’s a chip off the cake-making block. I’m getting misty-eyed.

To throw your own Pirate Birthday party, check out these great ideas from Amazingmoms.com.

If you find yourself in the Williamsburg area this summer, Busch Gardens has a fantastic offer for parents of kids age 5 and under and another for Virginia parents.

This pirate chest is actually a cake created by my nephew, Matt.

VEHICLE NAMING CONTEST. Every vehicle on every road trip needs a great name. I’ve got a lot of great entries for my truck. Keep them coming to uncleharry@uncleharrysicecream.com. Winner gets one of my trademark bolo ties. Contest ends July 17, 2010.

This entry was posted in Celebration Ideas, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

